Posted by: Daniel O'Brien | August 9, 2007

Stranglehold Impressions

Quite simply, the most fun I’ve had in a shooter in a long, long time. I’d never really paid Stranglehold much attention, at least not the attention I now know it deserved. This was in part because I really didn’t think the claims which were being made, massively destructible environments, slow mo, stunts, precision aiming, etc etc, i didn’t think that these claims could be done, at least without making it overly complicated and overwhelming. Well consider me fish slapped and put in my place, Stranglehold has rekindled my joy for the shooter genre as a means of fun, rather than my competitive fix.

The game has a strongly cinematic feel to it, and with a name like John Woo attached to it there’s really no surprises there, however what struck me was how much the game makes you feel like you really are in a movie, sure the facial animations and textures weren’t as strong as they could be, but that feeling of being ‘in the moment’, as a bad ass cop, remains.

The graphics aren’t going to win any awards, but what the games engine can do is magnificent, remain at a applaudable frame rate whilst all manner of chaos is going on, you can be knocking the supporting beams of a roof down whilst shooting down huge lights fixings, think neon signs cross with chandeliers, whilst still, zipping across an alleyway on your belly, atop a moving trolley. Oh it’s fun alright!

The voice acting is strong, to be expected really, but still should be credited. The guns sounds powerful and only help with the ‘I’m a bad ass cop’ feeling.

I could go on and on…and on, about how fun this game is, how many cool things you can do in it, blah blah blah, but I shan’t! I will say this however, if you haven’t already downloaded the Stranglehold demo, go treat yourself…

 

Daniel O’Brien

Leave a Reply

Categories

