Posted by: Daniel O'Brien | January 10, 2008

What a difference, a day makes…

At least where The Club is concerned anyway…phew, I want more of it now! So as I signed off on The Club yesterday, I was of the mindset that I didn’t enjoy it because either it, or I, wasn’t/weren’t very good, and so, I come back to you today with my hands up, yes, I was too hasty in passing my judgement. The Club, does control well, the bobbing of the camera is cool and does grow on you. It genuinely was just me sucking at it, that was the problem! I was waffle about my inadequacies at shooters, I’ll get on with the praise.

It’s incredibly satisfying to make a complete run through a mission, which in this case was a Prison, [Quite why Michael Scofield and Lincoln Burrows couldn’t have broken out this way I don’t know, but I do know that it would have made some bad ass television!] whilst racking up a bigger and bigger a multiplier and pulling of ‘crackshots’ and plain ol’ headshots left right and centre. So sign me up for The Club right here right now, I’m sold on it, the only concern I have with the full game, however, is that it will be VERY short/small depending on how you look at it. For example, this Prison level in the demo, takes around 5 minutes to blast thru, you do that once on each difficulty setting and that’s 20 minutes for the first level, let’s say 30 minutes for rounding up’s sake. So 30 minutes per level, and there are a grand total of 8 levels… That’s a rather pitiful 4 hours for the single player. But fear not, if you’re gonna enjoy playing the club, you’re going to want to play the missions over and over to absolutely school each of the little punks the very second the pop out from there little hidey-hole with a headshot, and another for good measure, whilst maintaining your running speed thru the level to max out your multiplier and get some incredible scores to brag to your friends about! Whew. That could of done with some breathing pauses, but you see, consider that last sentence like The Club, you ain’t got time for no breathing pauses, you gots ta be shootin’ foo’s!

Daniel O’Brien

music note While writing this, I was listening to “Xbox 360 Fancast 050 — Being the 50th Episode” by Richard Mitchell, Dustin Burg, Alexander Sliwinski

Responses

  1. You made it all blue! 😮

    And I don’t like it, but hey.. Gimme Mass Effect anyday


Leave a Reply

Categories

